Popcorn is a whole-grain 'maize' food and is grown in the Corn Belt of the United States. It was domesticated about 10,000 years ago in Mexico, and archaeologists have discovered that we have been consuming popcorn.
The Food and Drug Administration defines gluten-free as containing fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten.
However, in the manufacturing process, popcorn is often processed on equipment that also processes gluten-containing grains.
Double check the ingredient lists on package labels to ensure your popcorn is truly gluten free. If the movie theater allows, take your own air-popped popcorn from home to play it safe.
Popcorn is a whole grain, so it contains more fiber, protein, vitamins, and minerals than refined grains.
Air-popped popcorn is the healthiest popcorn option. Adding butter, oils, sugar, and salt can make popcorn unhealthy.
With Latest Stories!